News
Goforest 1 14
Ecology

Go Forest goes Belgium

Together with our partner in Belgium, PlantC, our ambition is to make our rural territories resilient by planting hedges, orchards, innovative vegetable crops such as miscanthus, but also by reforesting areas degraded by climatic and pest disturbances. These projects respond to different emergencies: act against global warming, preserve biodiversity, the quality of water and soil, contribute to the well-being of farm animals or even generate resources for local supply.

Reforest devastated Belgian forest: an urgent matter

Pests (fungi, insects), drought and storms have always affected forests. But climate change is increasing the frequency and the simultaneity of these disturbances.

The deterioration of forests leads to discouragement among most foresters, who see that the work done over several generations has been reduced to nothing. In this context, and given the uncertainties of climate change, many landowners are refraining from investing in the reforestation of their areas. However, forests provide many important ecosystem services: carbon sequestration, biodiversity habitats, water and air quality, wellbeing and timber production.

We offer a unique solution that allows companies and engaged citizens to contribute to these multiple-impact afforestation projects in Belgium. That is why we work upstream with farmers and foresters in the organisation of their planting project.

A technical reflection before planting and a sustainable management afterwards

Thousands of hectares of forest are dying in Belgium and all over Europe. One of the species most affected is the Norway spruce and this due to one of the biggest pests in Europe: the bark beetle. When a spruce area is affected, the affected trees have to be felled and exported. At the same time, the ash suffers from a fungal infestation that leads to the death of the trees.

The progression of these diseases is facilitated by repeated periods of drought that weaken the trees. The increase in temperature and the reduction in periods of frost reinforce the increase in pests.

The planting projects are designed to make the forest ecosystem more resilient and resistant to climate change. The projects include several diversified species adapted to local conditions in a changing climate. These species are selected following the forest station (soil, climate conditions, global warming, etc.) to provide better impact on biodiversity, soil/water quality as economic aspect.

PlantC conducts a monitoring visit in the summer after planting to make sure the plants are recovering well. Owners are encouraged to draw up a "management plan". This is important because it will involve their children and grandchildren.

After the monitoring visit, the forester can receive their financial help. There is also more engagement from the forester and responsibility of the plantation is taken in the long term. In this way, our Go Forest members are sure they support a serious plantation project with respect of the plantation afterwards.

BACK TO NEWS

Actualité
Goforest 1 14
Écologie

Go Forest goes Belgium

Avec notre partenaire en Belgique, PlantC, notre ambition est de rendre nos zones rurales résilientes par la plantation de haies, de vergers et de cultures maraîchères innovantes comme le miscanthus, mais aussi par la reforestation de zones affectées par les perturbations climatiques et les parasites. Ces projets répondent à différentes urgences : ils luttent contre le réchauffement climatique, préservent la biodiversité et la qualité de l'eau et des sols, contribuent au bien-être des animaux d'élevage ou encore génèrent des ressources pour l'approvisionnement local.

Le reboisement des forêts belges détruites : une question urgente

Les ravageurs (champignons, insectes), la sécheresse et les tempêtes ont toujours affecté les forêts. Mais le changement climatique augmente la fréquence et la simultanéité de ces perturbations.
La détérioration des forêts entraîne le découragement de la plupart des forestiers, qui constatent que le travail effectué depuis plusieurs générations est réduit à néant. Dans ce contexte, et compte tenu des incertitudes liées au changement climatique, de nombreux propriétaires terriens sont réticents à investir dans le reboisement de leurs zones. Cependant, les forêts fournissent de nombreux services écosystémiques importants : rétention du CO2, restauration de la biodiversité, amélioration de la qualité de l'eau et de l'air, bien-être et production de bois.
Nous proposons une solution unique qui permet aux entreprises de contribuer à ces projets de boisement à impacts multiples. C'est pourquoi nous travaillons en amont avec les agriculteurs et les forestiers dans l'organisation de leur projet de plantation.

Une réflexion technique avant la plantation et une gestion durable après.


Des milliers d'hectares de forêt sont en train de mourir ici en Belgique et dans toute l'Europe. L'une des espèces d'arbres les plus touchées est l'épicéa de Norvège, en raison de l'un des plus grands ravageurs d'Europe : le scolyte. Lorsqu'un épicéa est touché, les arbres concernés doivent être abattus et exportés. Dans le même temps, les frênes souffrent d'une attaque fongique qui entraîne la mort des arbres.
La progression de ces maladies est facilitée par des périodes de sécheresse répétées qui affaiblissent les arbres. L'augmentation de la température et la réduction du nombre de périodes de gel renforcent l'augmentation des ravageurs.

Les projets visent à rendre l'écosystème forestier plus résilient et résistant à ce changement climatique. Ils comprennent plusieurs espèces d'arbres diversifiées, adaptées aux conditions locales dans un climat changeant. Ces espèces sont sélectionnées en fonction du sol, des conditions climatiques, du réchauffement climatique, entre autres facteurs... et cela pour avoir un impact plus important sur la biodiversité, la qualité des sols et de l'eau et l'aspect économique.

PlantC effectue une visite de contrôle en été après la plantation pour s'assurer que les plantes se rétablissent bien. Les propriétaires sont encouragés à établir un "plan de gestion". De cette façon, le forestier s'implique davantage et prend ses responsabilités pour la plantation à long terme ! De cette manière, nos Go Forest members ont la certitude de participer à un projet sérieux, traité de manière durable et respectueuse.

Retour aux actualités